calmness & thumbs

Nick found his thumbs.

In the past few weeks he found them and lost them several times. Yesterday he experimented with the left and the right, sucking furiously, loudly and sloppily. Today he decided he probably prefers the left. I sucked my left thumb, too. I didn’t couldn’t wouldn’t quit until I was 8 (or 9?) and got a retainer to orthodontically realign my jaw. My left thumb was a bit thinner than my right from all the sucking. I’m not even kidding. Of course, now I’m wondering if we should have given the poor kid a pacifier after all. At least that way we could have helped him give it up at some point, like “lets go to the post office and send it to a baby who needs it, you don’t anymore because you’re a Big Boy now. Here, have a lollipop”. Can’t do that with a thumb.

He looks very tranquil, though, doesn’t he?

0 Responses to “calmness & thumbs”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

I really like the phrase "always an adventure". I am a Reiki Master and work as a therapist in Manhattan, in my private practice and at a cancer center. I also freelance as a translator in the New York City area and beyond.

Archives


