waddling & walking

When I got back from 3 months in Europe , I was weighed down by pregnancy pounds. I hit my NYC stride right away, though. New Yorkers walk fast, they have places to go. They stay on the right side of the sidewalk to keep pedestrian traffic moving. Even pregnant, I was faster than the tourists. Hey! Why so slow, out-of-towners?

Of course, now I waddle. When I asked my husband a few weeks ago if I waddled (because I obviously can’t see myself!), he looked at me to check if I was joking. Apparently, I’m waddling big time. It takes me twice the time to get places. I’m constantly a few minutes late for rendez-vous despite actually allowing for more time. Tourists sometimes overtake me! I’ve stopped going to yoga class in the West Village, because it took me almost an hour instead of 25min to briskly¬†duckwalk there, and I would arrive exhausted and red-faced, cursing heat and muggy conditions. This might make crazy old ladies yell out of brownstone windows: Get inside, you’re hurting your poor baby! I now to to prenatal yoga just a couple of blocks away.

Speaking of unsolicited advice, this old lady yelling is one of two incidents that I can think of. (This is unsolicited advice from complete strangers. Naturally, I get unsolicited advice from people I know all the time.) Also, I keep hearing of stories of strangers patting/poking/touching pregnant bellies, and that has not happened to me (yet?) either. Not sure what I would do if that happened, but I’m fairly sure the aggressive growling mama-bear in me would come out.

0 Responses to “waddling & walking”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

I really like the phrase "always an adventure". I am a Reiki Master and work as a therapist in Manhattan, in my private practice and at a cancer center. I also freelance as a translator in the New York City area and beyond.

Archives


