emotionality and roads

Please, please don’t watch “The Road” the post-apocalyptic drama with Viggo Mortensen when you’re expecting. Yes, Viggo is certainly always nice to look at, but believe me when I tell you to stay away.

I watched it on TV just a few weeks into my pregnancy and it has haunted me ever since. I still want to talk about it regularly with my husband and I’m sure he’s getting tired of reassuring me that everything will be fine (“Oh my goodness. Any chance this will happen?” “No, it won’t happen. we’ll be fine. It was just a movie.”) and/or that he will indeed protect the Muffin if the world is destroyed by a great cataclysm (“But what if it does happen? *gasp!* I think could totally happen! Right?” “Then we’ll be fine. I’ll make sure of it.”).

Repeat different versions of the dialog ad nauseam for months.

1 Response to “emotionality and roads”


  1. 1 Roland Bruno June 13, 2011 at 10:36

    Dear beyond … es ist wohl anmassend, sich als Mann zu diesem Thema zu äussern? Also because I didn’t saw this Movie “The Road” with Viggo Mortenson. As I tried to understand your text (mother tongue Swiss-German) and I checked it with the “dict.cc vocabulary” I was surprised. For the sentence “.. when you’re expecting” respectively the term “to be expecting” I got a strange translation. So please never use a “translater-site” for translate difficult sentences … I wish you all the best for your pregnancy .. vorallem auch keine Alpträume irgendwelcher Art. Kind regards from Switzerland. Roland Bruno. PS: Today Pentecost Monday we have rainy weather in CH.


Leave a Reply

I really like the phrase "always an adventure". I am a Reiki Master and work as a therapist in Manhattan, in my private practice and at a cancer center. I also freelance as a translator in the New York City area and beyond.

Archives


