muffins & remembering

Dear Internet,

Meet the Muffin.

(The Muffin, 20 weeks.)

Let me say a few words about my first trimester. It was not pretty. ‘Morning sickness’ is such a crass understatement for the 24-hour sickness I had. Let me put it this way: do you remember that time you felt really really nauseous, nauseous as can be? When you wanted someone to knock you out with a frying pan over the head, so you could remain unconscious until you felt better? Multiply that feeling by ten, and that’s about how I felt. From about week 3 to week 11. 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. During the first 12 weeks I lost weight, and although I admit I had a few pounds to spare, it’s disconcerting to lose a pound here, a pound and a half there week after week. At week 11, I felt the horribleness decreasing a little bit every day, and by week 12 I felt more or less alive again. Between my 10 week and my 16 week appointment I gained only 1 pound (although I was feeling well by then), and the midwife quietly hinted that I could absolutely treat myself to a milkshake from time to time.

Now that I’m in my second trimester, otherwise known as the Golden Age of Pregnancy, I feel great, and have almost forgotten the dreadful first weeks. This might be why women who have ‘morning sickness’ ever get pregnant again: you simply… don’t really remember. I assume it’s the same with childbirth. Otherwise all women would have only one child and get their tubes tied, right? Our brains are wired to forget. Well done, Mother Nature, well done.

3 Responses to “muffins & remembering”


  1. 1 chiara.u March 30, 2011 at 15:13

    dear beyond…. this is a GREAT news!!! enjoy this wonderful time, most of all now that the sickness has gone! best wishes and a big big hug to you and the little MUFFIN!
    love, Chiara

  2. 2 Maris (In Good Taste) April 5, 2011 at 20:52

    How exciting! the best is yet to come!

  3. 3 Lawyerish April 6, 2011 at 11:48

    Aaaah! SO exciting! I am thrilled for you — and so glad you’re out of the first trimester awfulness.


Leave a Reply

I really like the phrase "always an adventure". I am a Reiki Master and work as a therapist in Manhattan, in my private practice and at a cancer center. I also freelance as a translator in the New York City area and beyond.

Archives


