gospel & rock

We saw The Kinks at the Town Hall yesterday. Okay, it was former Kinks singer-songwriter Ray Davies performing with The Dessoff Chamber Choir, but still, THE KINKS! It was a baby boomers concert, I think I was the youngest person there, and that never ever happens anymore. When legendary Mr. Davies ran onto the stage, the audience went wild. I was a bit apprehensive about the choir’s involvement, just because it was a difficult concept to wrap my brain around. As it turns out, 60s rock and choral arrangements work together perfectly. Who knew? It was a fabulous concert. Really brilliant. 

Here are The Blind Boys of Alabama, progressive southern gospel music superstars, whose wonderfully harmonious concert we went to a few weeks back. When spirituality meets humor, magic happens.

I was sitting so close to the stage I could have reached out and touched their patent leather shoes.

2 Responses to “gospel & rock”


  1. 1 Phil June 25, 2013 at 09:26

    Very well expressed of course. .

  2. 2 dog bone Cancer July 17, 2013 at 02:12

    I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems? A couple of my blog visitors have complained about my blog not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera. Do you have any ideas to help fix this problem?


Leave a Reply

I really like the phrase "always an adventure". I am a Reiki Master and work as a therapist in Manhattan, in my private practice and at a cancer center. I also freelance as a translator in the New York City area and beyond.

Archives


