apples & cleansing

Yesterday was Day 10 (aka the last day!) of the grand Master Cleanse experiment. After Day 3, it just kept getting better and easier, and I always had plenty of energy, just as I had expected. Today, I’m easing in with only raw fruit and vegetables, freshly pressed orange juice, water and herbal teas. On the way to the hospital early this morning, I ate a banana, which practically made me break out in a sweat. Drinking only liquids, my stomach has shrunk a bit and this rather small banana was almost more that it could handle. Later in the day, I was at an orchid where I picked many juicy dark red macoun apples and sampled one. (I LOVE picking apples!) It’s extremely satisfying that a banana and an apple (plus lots of liquids, of course ) can be so filling. For dinner I’m planning to have some fennel and a carrot. This cleansing fast has been a great and very liberating experience for me and I have been recommending it to curious friends. Maybe I will even make it a yearly custom.

4 Responses to “apples & cleansing”


  1. 1 Swistle November 6, 2009 at 21:14

    Oh, you are REALLY tempting me to try it! It appeals to me every time I read about it.

  2. 2 Elisa November 11, 2009 at 16:02

    You had me at “for dinner I’m having a carrot and some fennel”. I am really tempted to try it, but with my low blood sugar, I really don’t do well on fasts. Sounds awesome though! Good job on sticking with it and easing back into solid foods gradually!

  3. 3 Mommas Soapbox November 17, 2009 at 20:04

    In the words of Bette Midler: Did you ever know that you’re my hero, and ev’rything I would like to be?

    Good for you!

    Inspiring..

  4. 4 jacqueline November 18, 2009 at 10:41

    this sounds so interesting…you inspire me to want to try it!


Leave a Reply

I really like the phrase "always an adventure". I am a Reiki Master and work as a therapist in Manhattan, in my private practice and at a cancer center. I also freelance as a translator in the New York City area and beyond.

Archives


