happy pumpkin

IMG_0092

I’m not a big fan of Halloween. I don’t  slip into a fabulous costume and run from one party to the next. I last wore a costume (punkette; think mid-eighties: teased hair, dark lipstick, dramatic eye make-up, safety pins) and went trick-or-treating at age 11, many many years ago. Of course I think trick-or-treating is fun for kids. However, I’m astonished at costumes I have been seeing in stores lately. Everything seems so… inappropriate. Slutty cowgirl, slutty fairy, slutty witch, all in children sizes. Who buys this stuff? I feel nostalgic. Whatever happened to the homemade unpolished clown or robot costume?

4 Responses to “happy pumpkin”


  1. 1 Walter November 2, 2009 at 01:04

    Well, as time goes by convinience becomes a necessity. Especially in this fast-phased and lazy generation. 🙂

  2. 2 June November 12, 2009 at 11:46

    I’m with you on the costumes and Halloween in general. But I do love that happy pumpkin…

  3. 3 Johna August 7, 2010 at 21:49

    Well the manufactures ran out out scary costumes so they came up with slutty halloween costumes. Accouding to them its all the new rage this coming season.

  4. 4 Gloria August 7, 2010 at 21:55

    I still like disney character costumes. There not slutty like all the new stuff. There is still stuff out there you just need to look a little harder.


Leave a Reply

I really like the phrase "always an adventure". I am a Reiki Master and work as a therapist in Manhattan, in my private practice and at a cancer center. I also freelance as a translator in the New York City area and beyond.

Archives


