charlie & cleansing

I am doing the Master Cleanse. This is my first detox cleanse ever. I have been feeling a bit blah and listless lately. When a friend did this detox a few years ago she felt great and  praised this particular cleanse enthusiastically. I am on day 4 and I feel good. Not great, just good, and that is good enough for me. This cleanse is a difficult challenge. But it’s totally doable. The Salt Water Flush is not as bad as I thought it would be, and this morning I drank it in about 10 minutes. It undoubtedly helps that the “Lemonade” (a mixture of water, maple syrup, lemon juice, and cayenne pepper) is really delicious. It’s so tasty that when my husband tasted some of my concoction, he decided to do it too, which helps a lot. He actually feels great, not good. Days 2 and 3 were difficult for me. The second evening I told him he smelled like yummy fried chicken. 

Food is important to me. I go to the Farmer’s market at least once a week, I cook all the time, I love to eat delicious, healthy food. I miss the ‘ch’ foods I eat daily (cheese and chocolate). All I’m ingesting during the detox is the “Master Cleanse Lemonade”, water and the occasional herbal tea. As I said, this is a challenge, but it’s also extremely empowering and satisfying. Days 2 and 3 are the worst for most people, and then it gets a bit easier every day. So I fully expect to feel great in a couple of days.

2 Responses to “charlie & cleansing”


  1. 1 chiara.u October 28, 2009 at 07:58

    Oh! I don’t know this Master Cleanse but everything concerns diets, purify, detox frightens me a lot! It should be good for me… but I’ve stopped smoking one year ago; I’m happy but I don’t know if I can endure this kind of sacrifice… smoking was sooo bad… but eating… Great job! absolutely great!!


  1. 1 apples & cleansing « beyond the window Trackback on November 2, 2009 at 18:05

Leave a Reply

I really like the phrase "always an adventure". I am a Reiki Master and work as a therapist in Manhattan, in my private practice and at a cancer center. I also freelance as a translator in the New York City area and beyond.

Archives


