cheese & moons

(Listening to Janis Ian’s Lover’s Lullaby)

“I like this song. She sings about cheese”

“Does she sing about Applefutzer cheese?”

“You mean Appenzeller. Like the quaint village we visited where the cheese comes from. No, she talks about cheese and the moon.”

“Green cheese and the moon?”

“Yes! How did you know?”

“Well… the moon is made of old green cheese.”

“Really? How is that?”

“I don’t know. It just is.”

“Is this something all American kids learn in school?”

“Yes.”

The moon is made of a greene cheese. (John Heywood, 1546)

2 Responses to “cheese & moons”


  1. 1 chiara.u May 21, 2009 at 09:04

    Hi 🙂 Cheese and moons make me think to “wallace & gromit”… so funny!! Never read about John Heywood… have to make up for it :))
    Bye.

  2. 2 Sarah @ BecomingSarah.com May 21, 2009 at 18:37

    When I was a kid, my parents had a story about a girl who captured the moon or something like that. I actually can’t remember the details, but I do remember the pictures in the book and they totally just popped into my head when I read this.


Leave a Reply

I really like the phrase "always an adventure". I am a Reiki Master and work as a therapist in Manhattan, in my private practice and at a cancer center. I also freelance as a translator in the New York City area and beyond.

Archives


