possibilities & tomato sauce

Here’s a basic tomato sauce for you. I always have some of this in my fridge and use it as the core ingredient in many dishes: beans, buffalo, fish, lamb, mushrooms, mussels, pasta, pizza, poached eggs… It’s quick and fabulous tasting and you will be glad to have a container of in your fridge too.

Sauté two carrots and an onion (I used a red one) in some olive oil, a pinch of chili flakes and half a teasp of dried oregano (optional) for about five minutes over medium heat.

dsc04973

Add one clove of minced garlic for another minute or two only. (You never want your garlic to burn!)

dsc04974

Add a glug of red wine and let simmer for a minute or two. This is optional, I only do this if I have leftover wine.

dsc04975

Add a large can of tomatoes (28oz, 800g). I used whole peeled tomatoes, but you could use diced. Or roasted. Season with a vegetable bouillon cube (or salt) and pepper. You might not need much if there was salt in your tomatoes. I also add a teasp of brown sugar at this point, to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. Let simmer with the lid on for about 30 minutes. Or longer, of course. The longer it simmers the more intense the flavors will be. 

 dsc04977

Time to get out your immersion blender. Blend to your desired texture. Sometimes I like mine a bit chunky, sometimes I like it smooth and silky. That’s it. Easy, right?

dsc04978

This is a very versatile recipe, it’s hard to mess it up and you can tweak it to your liking. You despise onions? Don’t use any! You love dried marjoram? Throw in half a teasp! You adore things very spicy? Add more chili flakes or a jalapeño! A couple of weeks ago I made this adding some chopped celeriac. It was delicious. You can toss in the zucchini that’s getting a bit wrinkled in the back of your fridge or the yellow tomatoes that are almost too mushy to use fresh in a salad. Grate some lemon zest into the portion you are going to bake your fish in… I could go on, but you see what I’m trying to say: the possibilities are endless. And delicious.

Bon Apétit!

1 Response to “possibilities & tomato sauce”


  1. 1 chiara.u April 27, 2009 at 09:42

    Tomato sauce… you know it remembers me my grandma!! Her’s was beautiful 🙂 And “glug” is a wonderful world indeed… it explains very well it’s meaning!
    Many compliments for this blog, maybe through this I can know something of you marvellous city, New York!
    I hope some day to fly there in person…
    In the meantime I’ll visit you often to hear something about it!!
    Ciao, Chiara


Leave a Reply

I really like the phrase "always an adventure". I am a Reiki Master and work as a therapist in Manhattan, in my private practice and at a cancer center. I also freelance as a translator in the New York City area and beyond.

Archives


