bunnies & eggs

dsc05126

My belief in the Easter Bunny was strong. In fact I believed in the Easter Bunny for longer than I believed in Santa Claus or the Tooth Fairy. My parents were very good at making me believe in the Easter Bunny for some reason. My father would stand at the window early Easter Sunday and whisper “Come quick! There he is!” By the time I got there the Bunny was always gone. He’s very quick to hop away and hypersensitive to movement behind glass windows, you see. One snowy Easter I even found tiny bunny prints in the snow! I knew exactly what he looked like -he carried a huge wicker basket of dyed eggs and sweet goodies on his back- and I would draw pictures of him in all his glory. When I was a bit older I dyed eggs with my mother every year. The Easter Bunny still came to hide them in the garden though. It’s magical to truly believe in mythical characters as a child.

3 Responses to “bunnies & eggs”


  1. 1 Michelle April 14, 2009 at 09:39

    I’m not sure if I ever actually believed in any of those things. There were never any moments where someone explained it to me, or I had an epiphany.. I just always kind of knew.

  2. 2 Sarah @ BecomingSarah.com April 14, 2009 at 11:44

    What a great gift from your father =) Mine left reindeer tracks in the mud on Christmas Eve. I cherish memories like those, the ones that convinced me that magic was possible.

  3. 3 Amber April 19, 2009 at 19:04

    I agree, I love the magical thinking that children possess. I was a true believer, too, and I cherish those memories. I have friends who don’t ‘do’ the Easter Bunny or don’t ‘do’ Santa with their kids, because they feel like it’s lying. I couldn’t imagine not sharing these characters with my kids. I hope that they also look back on these days of complete belief fondly.


Leave a Reply

I really like the phrase "always an adventure". I am a Reiki Master and work as a therapist in Manhattan, in my private practice and at a cancer center. I also freelance as a translator in the New York City area and beyond.

Archives


