books & thieves

I have been reading the Twilight series and yes, realize that I am way behind on this. While I understand that it is popular fiction aimed at teenagers there is something about it that draws me in. Despite writing flaws, I enjoy diving into the world the author created, and although I think she gives impressionable young readers a wrong idea of “love” -Bella thinks smoldering Edward is super hot and Edward is very attracted to the smell of Bella’s blood, and yet the two never seem to have a real conversation. Try to build a marriage based on that!- I like the vampires and the werewolves.

Proof that it resonates with me were the dreams (nightmares!) overflowing with teenage angst I had right after I started reading the first book. High school dreams filled with uncertainty and dread: not being sure where to go for the next class, not knowing who my friends are, feeling out of place, knowing that there is going to be a differential calculus exam but then why was it never covered in class?

I borrow these books from the New York public library. This is light reading and there is no need for me to own books I will only read once. I am a big fan of the nypl. What you do is order the books online and pick them up when you get the email saying that they are waiting for you at the library. So convenient! (It must be like this in most big cities.) It is a long wait for popular books. Now at most nypl branches there are shelves where you select your reserved copy yourself and bring it to the desk for check out. Aaand… I am finally getting to the point of this post… When I went to get New Moon, it wasn’t on there. I searched for it. Then the library guy helped me search for it, to no avail of course, and told me that they had been having terrible difficulties with the Twilight series books, that reserved copies are now held behind the desk, that mine had slipped though the cracks somehow and that he would put me at the top of the list so that I wouldn’t have to wait another month. Because, you see, people have been stealing these books. People steal library books! Call me naïve but this shocked me. What kind of person steals from a library?

Stealing books is near the top of the bad karma list. Right up there with spitting chewing gum out on the sidewalk.

 

 

0 Responses to “books & thieves”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

I really like the phrase "always an adventure". I am a Reiki Master and work as a therapist in Manhattan, in my private practice and at a cancer center. I also freelance as a translator in the New York City area and beyond.

Archives


