him & me

This is from over at dooce. Which means that you have probably all seen it because who doesn’t read her? Dooce was one of the very first blogs I started reading many years ago and she still holds a special place in my heart.

(Feel free to do your own!)

What are your middle names? Barbara and Scott. My husband and his brothers all have that same middle name.

How long have you been together? 5 years total, 3 of them married.

How long did you know each other before you started dating? I’m not sure we ever ‘dated’. We were simply ‘together’. Just like we still are.

Who asked whom out? I don’t know. I think he asked me out. After I called him a few times.

Where was your first date? We went to a (bad) puppet performance at St. Ann’s Warehouse although I wouldn’t call it a ‘date’.

How long did it take to get serious? I was confused and he was confused and we were confused together but then it got serious quickly.

How old are each of you? I’m in my early thirties and he’s twenty years older. We both look younger than we really are.

Whose siblings do you see the most? We both see his siblings more often as they live in NYC too. Unfortunately my sister and my brother live on another continent. I miss them a lot. In-law siblings are just not the same.

Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple? We have a tendency to head-butt over the same issues over and over and over again.

Did you go to the same school? No.

Are you from the same home town? No.

Who is smarter? What kind of smart? He may have an edge on me intellectually. I often think he would have been a good lawyer because he’s a master at applying abstract theories and knowledge to solve specific individualized problems prove his point. I would win on the emotional intelligence front. I also know more weird random facts. 

Who is the most sensitive? We’re both very sensitive. I cry more.

Where do you eat out most as a couple? I love going to Zarela’s (mid-town east). They have amazing food and fantastic frozen margaritas. He just loves going there because it makes me so happy.  

Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple? We’ve been to Indonesia several times.

Who has the craziest exes? I have ‘interesting’ exes. He has crazy exes.

Who has the worst temper? I’m more balanced. It’s part of my job. His fuse used to be shorter. I like to think I’ve influenced him in a good way.

Who does the cooking? I love cooking and do almost all of it. 

Who is the neat-freak? Oh, he’s the neat freak, no question. I don’t think it’s always easy for him. But I clean more and that has to count for something.

Who is more stubborn? We’re both very stubborn. It’s a problem sometimes.

Who hogs the bed? I do. But I never hog the covers. Apparently I check to see if he’s covered -and cover him up if he’s not- in my sleep. If that’s not a great act of love I don’t know what is.

Who wakes up earlier? Although I don’t ever really sleep in, it’s fair to say he wakes up earlier on a regular basis.

Who is more jealous? I am. I have nothing further to say.

Who eats more? I do. While I like a plate of greens with sea salt and a drizzle of olive oil just as much as he does, I always want a next course, while he would be perfectly satisfied. 

Who does the laundry? I do. I like to do laundry my way. I’m a laundry dictator (his words, not mine). 

Who’s better with the computer? This is an interesting one. For some reason he thinks I’m better with computers and technology in general. I think I’m just lucky. I won’t argue with him, though.

Who drives when you are together? He’s a great driver and almost always drives when we’re together. Thankfully living in Manhattan we don’t have to drive much, which really lowers our carbon footprint.

1 Response to “him & me”


  1. 1 Maris March 1, 2009 at 15:55

    cute post! I might have to try that margarita place in midtown east – sounds yummy!


Leave a Reply

I really like the phrase "always an adventure". I am a Reiki Master and work as a therapist in Manhattan, in my private practice and at a cancer center. I also freelance as a translator in the New York City area and beyond.

Archives


