pirates & skin

dsc04873

dsc04906

Quick update. My minor surgery went well and I was told all cancerous cells have been removed. YAY! I wasn’t given an eye-patch, which was a bit disappointing. The doctor said they could go find me one if I wanted, but it was white and so I declined. What’s the fun of having an eye-patch if it doesn’t make you look like a pirate? I had some stitches in there for a week and their removal really hurt. A break into a sweat kind of pain. Seriously, I am not a cry baby but removing those stitches hurt more than the whole rest of the procedure. Eyelid skin is hyper sensitive. Especially without anesthesia. Now I have a scar that doesn’t look as bad as I expected. People are trying to make me feel even better about it by saying that they can’t see it unless they lean in and look closely and carefully. But it’s there, it’s visible. It’s still fresh and pink and it will fade a bit with time. I think I was referred to a good doctor who also does smashing good reconstructive surgery and who just generally knows what he’s talking about. And as I already mentioned, he is dashing, which always helps.

dsc04962

Black pirate eye-patch my husband gave me for V-day. We’re romantic like that.

1 Response to “pirates & skin”


  1. 1 diamondsandrust March 12, 2009 at 08:48

    Haven’t looked into,or written anything on my blog for monthes so didn’t know until today of your “problem” I’m sure everything will be O.K now and that you and Mum are over it.
    Enjoy Switzerland,I don’t envy you the snow a bit.


Leave a Reply

I really like the phrase "always an adventure". I am a Reiki Master and work as a therapist in Manhattan, in my private practice and at a cancer center. I also freelance as a translator in the New York City area and beyond.

Archives


