colors & deer

Are people who think that beige and grey match colorblind? Or is it just me? That color combination makes me cringe. Today I was on the subway platform waiting for the L-train and this girl came and stood near me. She had on a beige coat and a grey woolen hat. I kept looking at her, it was almost magnetic, and looking at her I would squint as if that would make it all go away. I finally moved away and stood behind a column so that she was out of sight.

My cancer surgery is looming. It’s this Thursday, early in the morning, they said it might take up to 4.5 hours. A friend of mine mentioned that it’s a funny coincidence that I work at a cancer center and have cancer myself. I don’t think it’s funny at all (she didn’t really mean it that way) but it does give me a great sense of perspective. I see people there who are really really ill. So I count my blessings. I did some research, as anyone would especially in the first moments weeks of panic. But then I let it go, no use terrifying myself with horrible photos and accounts of what can go wrong, and I am proud to say that I have not googled skin cancer in a few weeks. I have been fairly relaxed and zen about this, but I have had this surgery appointment for ages, since the end of November, and I admit I am getting a bit antsy, it will feel good to just get it over with.

I watched The Deer Hunter the other day. Finally. And yes it definitely is a masterpiece albeit a very disturbing one. Great movie. I highly recommend it. I must ask you: has Meryl Streep ever been less than shining in anything?

Food: off to make baby spinach, apple and roquefort salad now.

3 Responses to “colors & deer”


  1. 1 Stephanie February 4, 2009 at 21:33

    I’ve been working my way through the best picture Oscar winners, but haven’t gotten to The Deer Hunter yet. However, that hasn’t prevented me from realizing how amazing Meryl Streep is. I thought she was fascinating in Out of Africa.

    Good luck with the upcoming surgery. I really hope it goes well.

  2. 2 Livvey K February 5, 2009 at 11:55

    I completely agree, Meryl Strrp is such a brilliant actress. I thought she was amazing in Silkwood. I confess I was unsure about the dungarees and choreography in Mamma Mia though!

  3. 3 spasmicallyperfect February 9, 2009 at 23:01

    Gees, it freaks me out that word just creeps into every nook and cranny it can find.

    Didn’t know about the cancer. Didn’t know about the leaving the virgin years behind either. I just seem to miss whatever is important somehow.

    Hugs,

    S.


Leave a Reply

I really like the phrase "always an adventure". I am a Reiki Master and work as a therapist in Manhattan, in my private practice and at a cancer center. I also freelance as a translator in the New York City area and beyond.

Archives


