skin

My first visit to a dermatologist was when I was twenty. I have been going in for regular skin exams every two to three years ever since. During my last visit a couple of weeks ago I asked my dermatologist to look more closely at a mole on my chin that had been increasing in size for about 8 years. There was also a new mole right under my right eye that has been growing steadily for less than a year.

Here’s the one right by my eye. it’s much smaller than a match head. 

dsc04576

She biopsied* both and sent them to the lab even though she didn’t think there was anything wrong with them.

Here’s my biopsied chin.

dsc04619

And here’s my biopsied eyelid. Stitched with a pretty blue thread to match my eyes.

dsc04589

I get really queasy when confronted with syringes and blood and the piercing and slicing of skin with needles and scalpels. (Agh. Just thinking about it!) Although I have gotten better over the years, there is not much I can do about this phobia and it’s embarrassing more than anything else. I turn white as a sheet and doctors usually order me not to move while they run to find some juice or a piece of candy to revive me. Preparing myself mentally helps, breathing helps, giving myself Reiki helps. I had mentally prepared myself for these biopsies and all went well until the doctor decided that the incision on my eyelid needed stitching, for esthetic reasons. Without ‘preparation’ the thought of a needle this close to my eye was just pfff awful. After the procedure the nurse tilted my chair to a 45º angle so that the blood could flow back to my head. She tried to reassure me that many patients feel similarly faint. I was mortified.

I know not everyone goes in for skin checkups regularly, but you should really consider it. The sooner irregularities are found, the easier they are to treat. Your dermatologist should check your armpits, your derrière, your scalp, between your toes, etc. Change doctors if you feel your exam isn’t thorough enough. 

Go here for results.

photo credits: husband (thank you…)

*Some dictionaries do not accept biopsy as a verb, and some do. I have decided to embrace it as a verb, as many people do. As my linguistic professor used to say: if natives speakers say it, it is not wrong.

7 Responses to “skin”


  1. 1 Spaz December 10, 2008 at 16:35

    Thanks for FREAKING me out and making me go queezy in the middle of the freakin afternoon!

    And then you just HAD to add photos, CLOSE UPs.

    Some of your readers have enough harmful imagination to hardly get past the word biopsie not to mention your detailed account! I am shaking my whole body……

    😉

    Hope all turned out well. You’re a trooper!

  2. 2 pest control Jacksonville July 23, 2014 at 12:16

    If you find any of these friendly bugs in your garden, leave them
    be. Infestations caused by creatures must not be
    ignored nor overlooked. One of the most effective strategies for
    eliminating earwigs is to encourage their natural predators to frequent the area
    around your home.

  3. 3 Pattek August 9, 2014 at 05:20

    What i do not realize is actually how you’re not really a
    lot more neatly-preferred than you may be now.
    You are so intelligent. You recognize therefore considerably in relation to this
    topic, produced me in my view consider it from so many various angles.
    Its like women and men aren’t fascinated until it’s one thing to do with Girl gaga!

    Your own stuffs nice. At all times care for it up!

  4. 4 Kindra August 11, 2014 at 08:41

    Brisbane is also acknowledged as the gourmet capital of
    Queensland, with a multitude of dining establishments, gourmand suppliers, espresso roasters and delicatessens.
    Massage Envy Spa Florham Park is located at 184 Columbia Turnpike in Florham Park, New Jersey.
    The best spas in Surrey offer services that are tailored to the individual needs
    of the client.

  5. 5 pest control Philadelphia August 19, 2014 at 00:26

    They will assist you to eradicate pests and also you could enjoy these benefits.
    Hence, it is important for the individual to make sure that only those pest controllers should be hired,
    who use the latest, effective and safe products.
    If the pests are chewing biting pests that are ingesting plant tissues then the use of systematic insecticides will be the best solution for long term treatment.


  1. 1 under the skin « beyond the window Trackback on December 15, 2008 at 18:12
  2. 2 pirates & skin « beyond the window Trackback on February 17, 2009 at 20:36

Leave a Reply

I really like the phrase "always an adventure". I am a Reiki Master and work as a therapist in Manhattan, in my private practice and at a cancer center. I also freelance as a translator in the New York City area and beyond.

Archives


