butternut squash soup

Vegan, gluten free 

Now that it gets dark at 16h30 every day, soup is a perfect meal. I thought I would share this recipe with you. It’s easy to make and deliciously satisfying, I make it often and always get compliments. Yesterday I made it to the farmer’s market, went home to cook and snap some photos. Make a huge pot of this, you’ll be happy to warm up the leftovers…

Peel, discard seeds and roughly chop all the ingredients and place in pot. 1 butternut squash, 1 potato, peeled, 1 sweet potato, 1 carrot, 1 onion, 1 clove of garlic, bit of ginger.

Add vegetable bouillon cube (I used powder today), some chili flakes (I usually use half a dried bird eye chili), some ground pepper, water to cover about half the vegetables in the pot.

dsc04547

(This pot is overflowing. I live life on the edge.)

Bring to a boil and let simmer with the lid on for 20-30 min or until everything is fork tender. (check the sweet potatoes, they sometimes need two extra minutes)

dsc04552

(I added too much water. It bubbled over and I had to clean the stovetop. Don’t do as I do, do as I say)

Get out your nifty immersion blender and start blending. You may want to add a cup of water unless you like your soup as thick as I like mine. Taste and add sea salt if necessary.

dsc04557

When blended to your desired texture, add a can of coconut milk. You can use the light kind, it’s creamy enough.

Reheat and enjoy… Bon apétit!

dsc04566

 

Bonus info: Add some bruised lemongrass for an extra layer of flavor, but make sure you remove all the stem pieces before blending. You can also remove your garlic clove if you just smash it, same for the ginger, you’ll still get the great taste.

2 Responses to “butternut squash soup”


  1. 1 Spasmicallyperfect November 23, 2008 at 21:13

    Have to try this one, I think the coconut milk is probably a good idea, thanks for the tip! I’ve made soup like this a few times but there was always something missing.

  2. 2 maris November 26, 2008 at 14:50

    I love butternut squash soup but never thought to add coconut milk to mine. looks delicious!


Leave a Reply

I really like the phrase "always an adventure". I am a Reiki Master and work as a therapist in Manhattan, in my private practice and at a cancer center. I also freelance as a translator in the New York City area and beyond.

Archives


