jumps

Sometimes I go to my site, just to check it out. I have slowly come to understand that the blog fairy never visits to publish a post. How disappointing that it always looks the same as when I last stopped by. I’m new at this blogging thing and just starting to realize that posts don’t magically appear, just like my laundry doesn’t do itself. (Oh, to have my very own household fairy!)

When I was six or so, I took swimming lessons. Apart from the splashing about and the doggy-paddling, we were forced encouraged to jump off the high diving board. The instructor would hold up a long padded pole with a loop on the end for us to hold on to as we plummeted leapt. When you are six, looking down into the pool makes you feel like you are way waaay up high in the sky and that the water is very veeery far below you. Talk about daunting. It always took me a few inhales and exhales before mustering up the courage to jump.

I started this blog not really knowing whether I really wanted it. I certainly enjoy reading blogs, but did I want to write one? And what would I write about? Would I feel inspired enough to publish regularly? Did I want anyone to read my random thoughts?  

This all feels a bit like standing on the edge of a high diving board, taking a deep breath… and leaping in.

5 Responses to “jumps”


  1. 1 jdg September 22, 2008 at 17:41

    just keep your identity secret, and let the blog be for you, and what happens will happen. that’s how we started out, and boy has it ever been a crazy ride. good luck!

  2. 2 LiteralDan September 23, 2008 at 02:01

    Oh, you haven’t had a blog fairy installed? You should download one right away.

  3. 3 spasmicallyperfect October 1, 2008 at 20:49

    Blog fairies? I think they do exist. They just don’t write, they more sit there and watch.

  4. 4 grumpygreenoldman October 2, 2008 at 15:30

    blog – bloody lazy overgrown goblin. That what ate your fairy! Keep blogging, it can become addictive I believe. Interesting just to see things like the water tower in NY don’t get them in UK. GGOM

  5. 5 Pure Evyl October 2, 2008 at 23:21

    My blog fairy is a fat hairy guy in a tutu. But dang can he swim when I chunk him in the deep water.

    But seriously, blogging should be something that you enjoy and a way to get out those things that you are willing to share. If only to yourself.

    Good luck on your venture. Just have fun.


Leave a Reply

I really like the phrase "always an adventure". I am a Reiki Master and work as a therapist in Manhattan, in my private practice and at a cancer center. I also freelance as a translator in the New York City area and beyond.

Archives


