sunset nails

After Labor Day I usually think that summer is over, that it will get chilly in the evenings, that my beloved flip-flop wearing days are over, that I will have to start contemplating long sleeves, and make big pots of comforting soups. It’s September, the days are getting shorter, bye-bye summer, thanks for having been my friend for the past months.

Today I walked to Madison Square Park, for a Shake Shack snack (say that five times really fast). I walked uptown on the sunny side of the street and by the time I got there, steam was rising off my skin. It’s still hot, it still feels very much like summer, and I was thankful for my hand-spun shake.

On the way home I stopped by the Greenmarket. Evidence of summer yet again. Balmy aromas and colors. Bushels of basil, yellow tomatoes, purple plums, ears of sweet corn, summer squash and new apples. My bag was packed with local goodness by the time I was done.

Later I painted my fingernails ‘sunset’. I don’t usually wear nail polish, it’s not professional for a therapist (just my opinion) but I will keep my quasi-golden nails for a day or two in celebration of warm days.

Sometimes I complain about the heat, other times I complain about the cold. Occasionally it’s nice to relax and enjoy the weather for what it is.

 

1 Response to “sunset nails”


  1. 1 spasmicallyperfect October 1, 2008 at 20:56

    Me loves the Fall. Love the Autumn light, there’s nothing better. I’m sure your polish looked just stunning too 😉 .


Leave a Reply

I really like the phrase "always an adventure". I am a Reiki Master and work as a therapist in Manhattan, in my private practice and at a cancer center. I also freelance as a translator in the New York City area and beyond.

Archives


